Skip to content

Commit c4e4f74

Browse files
authored
Revise blocking user guidelines in organization documentation
Updated the markdown file to include blocking user guidelines and organization settings.
1 parent 8794b3c commit c4e4f74

1 file changed

Lines changed: 50 additions & 50 deletions

File tree

Lines changed: 50 additions & 50 deletions
Original file line numberDiff line numberDiff line change
@@ -1,53 +1,3 @@
1-
---
2-
title: Blocking a user from your organization
3-
intro: Organization owners and moderators can block anyone who is not a member of the organization from collaborating on the organization's repositories.
4-
redirect_from:
5-
- /articles/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
6-
- /github/building-a-strong-community/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
7-
versions:
8-
fpt: '*'
9-
ghec: '*'
10-
shortTitle: Block from your org
11-
category:
12-
- Block users and report abuse
13-
---
14-
15-
You can block non-members from within your organization's settings or from content in the organization's repositories.
16-
17-
You can also close any open issues, pull requests, and discussions the user has opened in repositories owned by the organization. Organization moderators can close content only in repositories where they have write access. When you block a user from a comment, you can choose to send the user a notification explaining that they were blocked and why. Otherwise, the user is not directly notified that you've blocked them. Blocked users can still delete their existing content.
18-
19-
{% data reusables.organizations.blocking-a-user %}
20-
21-
> [!TIP]
22-
> If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment. For more information, see [AUTOTITLE](/communities/moderating-comments-and-conversations/locking-conversations).
23-
24-
At the time that you block a user from your organization:
25-
* The user stops watching your organization's repositories
26-
* The user's stars and issue assignments are removed from your repositories
27-
* The user's votes on discussions or comments in your organization's repositories are deleted
28-
* The user is removed as a collaborator on your organization's repositories
29-
* The user's contributions to your organization's repositories are no longer counted as contributions for them
30-
* Any pending repository or organization invitations to the blocked user are canceled
31-
* The user's comments on repository security advisories are hidden
32-
33-
After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot:
34-
* Cross-reference your organization's repositories in comments
35-
* Fork, watch, pin, or star your organization's repositories
36-
37-
In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot:
38-
* Open issues
39-
* Send, close, or merge pull requests
40-
* Comment on issues, pull requests, or commits
41-
* Comment on repository security advisories
42-
* Add or edit wiki pages
43-
44-
Blocking a user from a comment doesn't delete the original issue, pull request, or security advisory.
45-
46-
## Blocking a user from repository content
47-
48-
You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository security advisory.
49-
50-
1. Navigate to the issue, pull request, or repository security advisory that contains the description or comment whose author you would like to block.
511
1. In the upper-right corner of the description or comment, click {% octicon "kebab-horizontal" aria-label="Show options" %}, then click **Block user**.
522

533
![Screenshot of a pull request comment by octo-user. Below an icon of three dots, a dropdown menu is expanded, and "Block user" is outlined in orange.](/assets/images/help/repository/comment-menu-block-user.png)
@@ -99,3 +49,53 @@ You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository
9949
* [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/blocking-a-user-from-your-personal-account)
10050
* [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/unblocking-a-user-from-your-personal-account)
10151
* [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/reporting-abuse-or-spam)
52+
---
53+
title: Blocking a user from your organization
54+
intro: Organization owners and moderators can block anyone who is not a member of the organization from collaborating on the organization's repositories.
55+
redirect_from:
56+
- /articles/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
57+
- /github/building-a-strong-community/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
58+
versions:
59+
fpt: '*'
60+
ghec: '*'
61+
shortTitle: Block from your org
62+
category:
63+
- Block users and report abuse
64+
---
65+
66+
You can block non-members from within your organization's settings or from content in the organization's repositories.
67+
68+
You can also close any open issues, pull requests, and discussions the user has opened in repositories owned by the organization. Organization moderators can close content only in repositories where they have write access. When you block a user from a comment, you can choose to send the user a notification explaining that they were blocked and why. Otherwise, the user is not directly notified that you've blocked them. Blocked users can still delete their existing content.
69+
70+
{% data reusables.organizations.blocking-a-user %}
71+
72+
> [!TIP]
73+
> If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment. For more information, see [AUTOTITLE](/communities/moderating-comments-and-conversations/locking-conversations).
74+
75+
At the time that you block a user from your organization:
76+
* The user stops watching your organization's repositories
77+
* The user's stars and issue assignments are removed from your repositories
78+
* The user's votes on discussions or comments in your organization's repositories are deleted
79+
* The user is removed as a collaborator on your organization's repositories
80+
* The user's contributions to your organization's repositories are no longer counted as contributions for them
81+
* Any pending repository or organization invitations to the blocked user are canceled
82+
* The user's comments on repository security advisories are hidden
83+
84+
After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot:
85+
* Cross-reference your organization's repositories in comments
86+
* Fork, watch, pin, or star your organization's repositories
87+
88+
In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot:
89+
* Open issues
90+
* Send, close, or merge pull requests
91+
* Comment on issues, pull requests, or commits
92+
* Comment on repository security advisories
93+
* Add or edit wiki pages
94+
95+
Blocking a user from a comment doesn't delete the original issue, pull request, or security advisory.
96+
97+
## Blocking a user from repository content
98+
99+
You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository security advisory.
100+
101+
1. Navigate to the issue, pull request, or repository security advisory that contains the description or comment whose author you would like to block.

0 commit comments

Comments
 (0)